Coweta students outperform state in CRCT tests

The results are in and they show that Coweta County elementary and middle school students in 2012 improved their performance on the Georgia Criterion Reference Competency Test (CRCT) and outscored schools across Georgia in nearly all categories. Read More»

Chatt Hills gets charter school

“It’s huge. It’s awesome.” Those were the words of Chattahoochee Hills Mayor Tom Reed in describing the approval by Fulton County for the creation of the Chattahoochee Hills Charter School expected to open in August 2013.

The news of the approval was something the residents of Chatt Hills will cherish for years to come. It is something they have been wanting even before the city came into existence in late 2007.

The school is expected to begin operations for grades K-5 with the idea of eventually expanding to accommodate grades K-8. Read More»

CEC named a ‘2012 Innovator’

The Central Educational Center (CEC) charter school in Newnan will be recognized later this month by the Southern Growth Policies Board as one of 13 education and workforce development “Innovators” across 13 southeastern states. Read More»

Fayette schools, law enforcement tout closer cooperation

Fayette County School System Assistant Superintendent Sam Sweat (L), District Attorney Scott Ballard and school system Attendance and Discipline Coordinator C.W. Campbell (R) listen during a June 11 presentation to teachers from surrounding counties on handling issues related to school violence. Photo/Ben Nelms.

It was a presentation designed to show school teachers how the combined efforts of a school system, law enforcement, the judicial system and the community can work together to tackle issues related to criminal violations at schools.

The June 11 presentation at the Wyndham Conference Center in Peachtree City led by Fayette County Assistant Superintendent Sam Sweat, Attendance and Discipline Coordinator C.W. Campbell and District Attorney Scott Ballard was part of the three-day Summer Leadership Conference sponsored by the Griffin Regional Educational Service Agency (RESA). Read More»

Trinity Christian School moves closer to expansion

The Coweta County Commission on June 5 gave a show of support to help Trinity Christian School move ahead with securing funding that will add 15 classrooms to the school facility. The resolution is a step in the overall process of securing the funds needed for the expansion. The commission’s support of the measure does not hold Coweta County liable for the bond payments. Read More»

Coweta BoE honors state science fair winners

The Coweta County Board of Education recently recognized four local winners of the 2012 Georgia Science and Engineering Fair. Victoria George of Newnan High School, Tyler Sisk of Northgate High School, and Katherine Keller and Melody Kiser of Lee Middle School, were honored by the board for their achievements at the competition. Read More»

McIntosh junior Emma Widtfeldt prepares for graduation

Emma Widtfeldt. Photo/Special.

For most high school seniors in Fayette County, these next few days will mark the end of a very long journey. Nearly 13 years ago, each started kindergarten with the goal in mind of graduating from high school. The accomplishment of that goal is now just days away as they prepare to don caps and gowns and receive their long awaited high school diplomas.

One member of the McIntosh High School junior class is also preparing to walk across the dais to receive her diploma on May 25th. Read More»

Fayette’s private schools’ Class of 2012

Our Lady of Mercy Class of 2012

Allen C. Acejas

Bryn P. Ambrose

Ugochukwu Anumudu

Kiera K. Baity

Karli L. Balco

Trizna E. Banos

Mary Ashlyn Bodkin

Justin L. Bradshaw

Emma A. Bush

Alexandria G. Campbell

Massimiliano Capezzuto

Charles C. Chaney

Aisling M. Cleary

Charles Collier

Alvin H. Darden

Bolden N. Davis

Cassandra M. Denny

Erin A. Dolman

Christopher D. Donnay

Ivori K. Douglas

Marcus J. Drummer

William Dunphy
Read More»

Whitewater High School Class of 2012

These are the graduating seniors of the Class of 2012 at Whitewater High School south of Fayetteville.

Alexander Robert Aikin

Erika Danielle Alexander

Michelle Elizabeth Allen

Jacob Andrew Alley

Caleb Daniel Amos

Saul Arevalo

Robert Parker Armagost

Travis Douglas Armstrong

Julianne Kaye Ashley

Rebecca Estelle Ashley

Caroline Elizabeth Austin

Shyheim Tyreik Dennis Avery

Joshua Blake Babb

Byron Timothy Baitey

William Jedidiah Baker

Jordan Elizabeth Banks

Olivia Rachel Bankston

Jeremy Kirkland Barber

Thomas Blake Barnes Read More»

Sandy Creek High School Class of 2012

These are the graduating seniors of the Class of 2012 at Sandy Creek High School in Tyrone.

William Adams Jr.

Andre Allen

Toi Allen

Jonah Amos

Jose Anaya Loera

Julia Anderson

Tyler Anglin

Sahiry Anta’o Moreno

Ayshia Arceneaux

Eric Ardillo

Griffin Arlt

Blayze Artis

Melody Ascencio

Stefan Austin II

Jaime Aviles

Sohail Badarpura

Rachel Banks

Ian Barcala

Marie Bartlett

Gavin Baswell

Sydni Battle

Jacob Beal

Clayton Bell Jr.

Olivia Beris

Tyler Betts

Jamie Bigby

Jocelyn Blander

Maya Boddie

Zachary Booker Read More»