Voting starts Monday at PTC, Tyrone libraries

Voters in Peachtree City and Tyrone can cast ballots at their respective libraries all next week.

The polling locations will be open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m on Monday, Oct. 31 through Friday, Nov. 4.

Fayetteville voters may continue to cast their ballots during the same hours at the county’s elections office at the Fayette County administrative complex in downtown Fayetteville.

No voting will occur on Monday, Nov. 7, and voters waiting until election day Nov. 8 must cast their ballots at their regular polling place between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. Read More»

Candidates face the public in PTC forum

City Council Post 1 candidate Stephen Allen (L) chats with opponent Eric Imker, the incumbent, during the forum moderated Monday night by the Peachtree City Rotary Club. Photo/John Munford.

For the first time this election season, Peachtree City voters were treated Monday night to a side-by-side comparison of the two candidates seeking the Post 1 City Council seat.

Newcomer Steve Allen, who works in information technology services and incumbent Eric Imker, who is retired, answered a number of pointed questions from the audience about city government operations, cost cutting and more.

Allen said, if elected to office, he wants to have his performance measured on the effect on home values, quality of life and enhancement of the city’s village retail centers. Read More»

In F’ville campaign funds, Steele leads the race

When it comes to spending money for political campaigns in Fayetteville, Mayor Ken Steele tops the list with Post 2 City County candidate Mickey Edwards a close second and Post 1 candidate Edward Johnson a more distant third. Read More»

F’ville candidates for 2011 have their say at forum

The auditorium at Harvest Christian Community Church in Fayetteville was packed with nearly 200 people Oct. 18 to hear the six candidates for mayor and two council seats square off in a forum sponsored by the Fayette County Local Issues Tea Party. Read More»

Steele: ‘I won’t campaign for T-SPLOST’

If a regional transportation sales tax passes in a July 2012 referendum, Fayette County is expected to chip in $190 million over 10 years. Read More»

Regional sales tax transportation project list for Fayette now must face voters

Now that the project list for a proposed transportation sales tax is complete, voters have quite a bit to chew on between now and July 2012.

But the sales pitch is only just beginning, for those favoring the tax, and for those who vow to oppose it.

Last week the project list received unanimous approval, and elected officials on the 21-member roundtable lauded the fact that they were able to agree on the list. Read More»

No political crimes here

No political crimes here

There were no laws broken, only a group of well-dressed dudes and ladies like Fayette County Sheriff Wayne Hannah (R) and Vicki Turner at the Fayette County Republican Western Masquerade held Oct. 15 at the former Resurrection Clothing store on Ga. Highway 85 South. Dinner and line dancing highlighted the evening’s fund-raising activities. Photo/Ben Nelms.

Tyrone candidates for mayor, council have their say at forum

Nearly 200 people packed the Tyrone Depot on Oct. 11 to hear from the six candidates running for three town council seats in the Nov. 8 election. A sampling of the large number of questions asked is provided below. The forum also featured a straw poll showing a razor thin preference in all races.

Candidates for mayor included marketer Derrick L. Jackson and Post 1 Councilman Eric Dial. Post 1 candidates included bookkeeper Linda Howard and volunteer Tammy Proctor. And the candidates for the Post 2 seat included career consultant Pota Coston and small business owner Ryan Housley. Read More»

MacDuff extension makes transportation sales tax list

Will the public vote for the sales tax?

If a region-wide transportation sales tax passes next year, some Peachtree City commuters may rejoice.

The list of projects for sales tax funding was adopted Thursday, and a last-minute bid to add the extension of MacDuff Parkway was unanimously approved. Read More»

10 qualify for Seabaugh’s Senate seat

It did not take long for a very large handful of people to qualify for the seat vacated recently by state Sen. Mitch Seabaugh. The qualifying period that ended Oct. 13 showed nine Coweta County residents and one from Carroll County vying for the seat in the non-partisan special election to be held Nov. 8.

Those qualifying by press time Oct. 13 included:

-Cynthia C. Bennett, Non-partisan, 55, educator, of Newnan

-Duke Blackburn, Republican, 61, retired law enforcement officer, of Newnan

-Matthew Brass, Republican, 33, small business owner, of Newnan Read More»

Recent Comments