Blackburn, Crane to face-off in Dec. 6 Senate runoff election

The numbers in the nine-way race to fill the unexpired term of state Sen. Mitch Seabaugh (Dist. 28) are in and the top two vote-getters on Nov. 8 were Newnan residents Duke Blackburn and Mike Crane. The two will face off in a runoff election on Dec. 6.

Blackburn received 2,718 votes, or 26.28 percent of the total while Crane ended the night with 2,095 votes, or 20.25 percent. Both men qualified on the Republican ticket. Read More»

PTC voters give Imker a 4-year term, approve Sunday retail alcohol sales

Peachtree City Council Post 1 winner Eric Imker. Photo/File.

Incumbent Post 1 Councilman Eric Imker Tuesday easily turned back a challenge from political first-timer Steve Allen to win a four-year term on the Peachtree City Council.

Imker’s tally was 2,039 votes (58 percent) to Allen’s 1,468 (42 percent).

Imker was running for a full term after having won a special election two years ago to fill the unexpired term of then-Councilman Don Haddix, who resigned to run for mayor.

George Dienhart locked up the unopposed Post 2 slot on council. Read More»

Tyrone elects new mayor, 2 council members, OKs Sunday alcohol sales

Tyrone Mayor-elect Eric Dial. Photo/Ben Nelms.

Energized Tyrone voters in a 39 percent turnout for an off-year election Tuesday promoted Councilman Eric Dial to the open slot of mayor and installed two newcomers on the Town Council Dial overwhelmed first-time challenger Derrick Jackson by more than 2-to-1 to step into the mayor’s office being vacated by Don Rehwaldt, who chose not to run for reelection. Dial received 1,204 votes (70 percent) to Jackson’s 523 (30 percent). First-timer Linda M. Howard defeated Tammy Proctor 892 (55 percent) to 726 (45 percent) for the open Post 1 spot. Read More»

NEWS ANALYSIS — Challengers sweep F’ville races; longtime Mayor Steele loses to political newcomer

Fayetteville Mayor-elect Greg Clifton. Photo/Ben Nelms.

NEWS ANALYSIS — A continuing wave of voter unrest Tuesday night brought a sea change to previously placid Fayetteville politics as three challengers swept two incumbents out of office and defeated an establishment-anointed first-timer for an open slot on the City Council.

In the process, voters ended the political career of veteran Fayetteville Mayor Kenneth Steele, ousted incumbent Wilson Price and thwarted Mainstreet Fayetteville board member Cathy Cochran’s effort to win an open seat on the council. Read More»

Election results

UPDATE 9:24 p.m. Fayetteville results are FINAL; Mayor Steele out -- newcomer Clifton in; incumbent Price defeated by Johnson in Post 1 brings new majority to council
UPDATE 9:09 p.m Tyrone results are FINAL; one precinct outstanding for Fayetteville.
8:53 p.m. all Peachtree City precincts have reported, results are FINAL: Imker wins, so does Sunday alcohol sales; Fayetteville first precinct is in, Spring Hill

These are the total returns from all precincts but the results will not be made official until Monday:

Peachtree City Post 1 Read More»

Candidates for Seabaugh’s seat have their say at forum

A candidates forum held Nov. 2 at the old Coweta County Courthouse in Newnan for the unexpired term held by Sen. Mitch Seabaugh (Dist. 28) gave a packed house of residents a closer look at the nine candidates vying for the seat. Voters will have their say on Nov. 8 and, odds are, again on Dec. 6 when the top two vote-getters will face each other in a runoff election.

The forum was conducted by the Newnan-Coweta County Chamber of Commerce.

Eight of the nine candidates reside in Coweta County, with the other a resident of Carroll County. Read More»

U.S. Rep. Westmoreland visits PTC manufacturer

U.S. Rep. Westmoreland visits PTC manufacturer

Congressman Lynn Westmoreland on Oct. 20 visited Rinnai in Peachtree City where he took a tour of the facility and spoke with employees. Commenting on the business climate and the state of the economy, Westmoreland said, “We don’t need to worry about the next election. We need to worry about the next generation.” Photo/Ben Nelms.

PTC’s 2 councilwomen, Learnard and Fleisch, come out for Imker

Peachtree City Council members (L-R) Kim Learnard, Vanessa Fleisch and Eric Imker. Photo composite/File.

Incoming Councilman Dienhart criticized for ‘making assumptions’

Peachtree City Council members Vanessa Fleisch and Kim Learnard want voters to know they are indeed supporting the re-election of Eric Imker to the Post 1 council seat.

Both cited assumptions that could be drawn from comments made by incoming Councilman George Dienhart in an article published in Saturday’s Citizen about Dienhart’s endorsement of Imker’s opponent, political newcomer Steve Allen.

In that article, Dienhart said: “Everything I have seen and heard from the people I have talked to leads me to believe Eric is a big problem with the discord on the current City Council.” Read More»

Rep. Lewis: ‘Need NAACP now more than at any time’

Receiving honors at the Fayette County NAACP Freedom Fund Banquet held Oct. 29 at the Wyndham in Peachtree City were (L-R) Fayette County School System Deputy Superintendent Fred Oliver; Omega Psi Phi President Tommy Ambrose; Congressman John Lewis; Julia H. Wrightt; Wayne Kendall; and Fayette County High School student Nicholas Britt. Photo/Ben Nelms.

The house was packed Oct. 29 at the Wyndham Peachtree Hotel and Conference Center as the Fayette County Branch of the NAACP held its 14th Annual Freedom Fund Banquet. Front and center for the occasion was keynote speaker Congressman John Lewis.

This year’s banquet theme was “Standing on the Legacy of our Past, Forging an Understanding for the Future.”

Fayette NAACP Branch President John Jones said Lewis is dedicated to the highest ethical standards and moral principles which have won him the admiration of many of his colleagues on both sides of the aisle in the United States Congress. Read More»

Candidate slates not related to voting district lawsuit, says NAACP

(L-R) Tyrone Council mayoral candidate Derrick Jackson, Tyrone Council Post 2 candidate Pota Coston and Fayetteville Post 1 candidate Edward Johnson. Photo composite/Ben Nelms.

Three candidates in three council races in Fayetteville and Tyrone are black, the most minority candidates in local elections in Fayette history. The Fayetteville candidate, pastor Ed Johnson, is the past president of the Fayette chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP).

Is this coincidental or does this unprecedented slate have anything to do with the NAACP’s district voting lawsuit against Fayette County?

The Fayette County attorney who filed the voting rights lawsuit — Wayne Kendall — says, “No,” there’s no connection. Read More»