State House D-71 candidates square off on Jan. 17

The Newnan-Coweta Chamber, the Democratic Party and the Coweta GOP will co-sponsor a candidate forum on Thursday, Jan. 17 at the Wadsworth Auditorium in Newnan. Candidates seeking the Georgia House District 71 seat will present their platforms. The forum will take place from 7– 8:30 p.m. The public is invited. Read More»

6 qualify for Dist. 71 House seat

There will be no shortage of candidates in the Feb. 5 special election to fill the District 71 seat in the Georgia House of Representatives. Qualifying time ended Wednesday with five Republicans and one Democrat vying for the House seat vacated by Robert Stokely prior to his taking office. District 71 includes a large part of east Coweta County and a portion of Peachtree City’s west side. Read More»

Imker goes after WASA

Council declines to reappoint Meredith to sewer board

The appointment of volunteers to Peachtree City’s various boards, commissions and authorities — although vetted through an interview process — usually is rubber-stamped by council.

But that was not so Thursday night, as council voted to reject one of the candidates: Tim Meredith, who was Read More»

Legislative preview: More cuts

Rep. Matt Ramsey in a 1911 file photo.

The calendar may have changed to 2013, but legislators this month will begin to face the main issue that has affected Georgia the past several years: state budget cuts.

Wrestling with those cuts will be one of the top duties of local legislators Rep. Matt Ramsey (R-Peachtree City) and Sen. Ronnie Chance (R-Tyrone).

Chance will serve this year as the new majority leader of the Senate, the second-highest ranking position in the chamber. Ramsey will again this year serve as vice chair of the majority caucus. Read More»

Familiar faces in Fayette leadership posts

The 2013 Fayette County Commission consists of (L-R) David Barlow, Steve Brown (chairman), Randy Ognio, Charles Oddo and Allen McCarty. Barlow, Ognio and Oddo are serving in their first elective offices. Photo/John Munford.

With three new commissioners on board, the Fayette County Commission last week selected Peachtree City resident and former Union City manager Steve Rapson to be the new county manager.

There was a packed crowd at the commission chambers in Fayetteville following the swearing in of new commissioners David Barlow, Charles Oddo and Randy Ognio. Read More»

Departing Fayette officials erase their digital trails

Former Fayette County Manager Jack Krakeel. File photo.

Former county attorney admits removing, keeping hard drives from county-owned computers

Even though he had the hard drives on his county office computer and county laptop computer “wiped” before turning them back in, former Fayette County Attorney Scott Bennett insists no county records were destroyed in the process. Read More»

Qualifying starts Mon. for vacant House seat

East Coweta, west PTC seat up for grabs Feb. 5

Qualifying starts Monday for a special election to fill the state House of Representatives District 71 seat left vacant by the resignation of Robert Stokely.

The majority of the district is in eastern Coweta County, though a small portion runs through northwest Peachtree City.

Candidates wishing to qualify must do so with the Georgia Secretary of State’s Office starting Monday at 9 a.m. The qualifying period ends at noon Wednesday and the fee is $400. Read More»

New commission to choose leaders

Remade group to decide on chairman, new county manager and county attorney posts

Not only will three brand-new county commissioners be sworn in today (Jan. 2) at 6:30 p.m., but they will face some big decisions from the get-go as they undertake their very first meeting minutes later. Read More»

New sheriff takes charge in Fayette

Newly elected Sheriff Barry Babb (L) takes the oath of office administered by Griffin Judicial Circuit Chief Judge Christopher Edwards. Photo/Ben Nelms.

The first floor of the Fayette County Justice Center was packed with approximately 250 people on Dec. 27 as Fayette County Sheriff-elect Barry Babb took the oath of office. Babb after the brief ceremony thanked a host of friends, family, fellow officers and other guests that filled the large area and offered a few remarks about his experiences and his view on law enforcement. Read More»

Stover, Marmon announce for Dist. 71 House seat

Two candidates have emerged for the District 71 seat in the Ga. House of Representatives being vacated by Robert Stokely before he could be sworn in. Qualifying for the Feb. 5 special election will be held Jan. 7-9, but Darryl Marmon and David Stover have already announced their candidacy for the House seat that includes east Coweta County and portions of the west side of Peachtree City. Read More»

Recent Comments