10 qualify for Seabaugh’s Senate seat

It did not take long for a very large handful of people to qualify for the seat vacated recently by state Sen. Mitch Seabaugh. The qualifying period that ended Oct. 13 showed nine Coweta County residents and one from Carroll County vying for the seat in the non-partisan special election to be held Nov. 8.

Those qualifying by press time Oct. 13 included:

-Cynthia C. Bennett, Non-partisan, 55, educator, of Newnan

-Duke Blackburn, Republican, 61, retired law enforcement officer, of Newnan

-Matthew Brass, Republican, 33, small business owner, of Newnan

-Mike Crane, Republican, 48, general contractor, of Newnan

-Kyle Frank, Republican, 60, real estate appraiser, of Senoia

-Dale Pepper, Republican, 52, airline pilot, of Newnan

-M. Seabolt, Democrat, 69, entrepreneur, of Roopville

-Edward Stone, Republican, 44, attorney, Senoia

-Mark Washington, Republican, 41, COO Faithbridge Foster Care, of Newnan

-Jammie Williams, Democrat, 41, engineer/manager, of Sharpsburg

District 28 includes all of Coweta and Heard counties and portions of Carroll and Troup counties.

A candidates forum for Senate District 28 candidates will be held on Wednesday, Nov. 2 at 7 p.m. at the Newnan-Coweta Chamber of Commerce in Newnan located at 23 Bullsboro Drive in Newnan.

A run-off election, if needed, will be held Dec. 6.

For more information, contact the Newnan-Coweta Chamber of Commerce at 770-253-2270 or at info@newnancowetachamber.org.

Recent Comments