Welch Elem. 5th grader county’s best speller

Tevyn Fudge, of Welch Elementary school, was the winner of Coweta County’s 2012 district-wide Spelling Bee, held at the Centre for Performing and Visual Arts on Feb. 6.

Fudge, a 5th grader at Welch, became the county’s 2012 spelling bee champion in the 35th round of the annual bee. It was the second time that Fudge had appeared on the Centre’s stage as a top Coweta speller. He won the second-place spot in last year’s county-wide bee.

Fudge and runner-up Daniel Wood, an Arnall Middle School 7th grader, faced each other for 12 rounds in a spell-off that ended with Fudge correctly spelling “inconvenient” and then “phantom” for the win Monday night.

Fudge and Wood each received a Kindle Touch reader, provided by BB&T of Newnan and awarded by BB&T President Don Phillips.

The annual county-wide spelling bee was sponsored by the Coweta County School System with help from BB&T and from the Coweta Association of Educators, whose members provided gifts for all 26 competitors.

Principals Leigh Munson of Eastside Elementary School, Dr. Laurie Barron of Smokey Road Middle School and Christi Hildebrand of Elm Street Elementary School served as judges. Dean Jackson served as pronouncer for Monday’s spelling bee.

Coweta’s two top spellers emerged from a competition that began with 25 students representing all of Coweta County’s 19 elementary schools and 6 middle schools. The 25 students from grades 4-8 were all winners of their own school spelling bees, which were held throughout January.

They were: Alex Johnson (Arbor Springs Elementary), Daniel Wood (Arnall Middle), Paul Querna (Arnco-Sargent Elementary), Zachary Quick (Atkinson Elementary), Garrett Abbott (Brooks Elementary), Ashley Dombrowski (Canongate Elementary), Trace Morrill (East Coweta Middle), Makenzie Kicks (Eastside Elementary), Joey Riddell (Elm Street), Jason Allwine (Evans Middle), Joshua Rechy (Glanton Elementary), Julian Bryant (Jefferson Parkway Elementary), Keith Schroder (Lee Middle), Brandon Dobson (Madras Middle), Grace Mallon (Moreland Elementary), Bryan Shim (Newnan Crossing Elementary), Jordyn Young (Northside Elementary), Madison Johnson (Poplar Road Elementary), Lajavion Russell (Ruth Hill Elementary), Emily White (Smokey Road Middle), Tia Ingram (Thomas Crossroads Elementary), Tevyn Fudge (Welch Elementary), Olivia Law (Western Elementary), Emma Ballew (White Oak Elementary) and Justin Xu (Willis Road Elementary).

Recent Comments